22 Inspiring Wildlife Photographers you should follow on Instagram in 2021

Table of Contents

Instagram is one, if not, the most useful platforms to build exposure and share your images with your followers.

Empowering photographers across the world to have their work viewed thousands, if not millions, of times over.

I also use Instagram to follow inspiring wildlife photographers whose images push me to constantly improve and try new things.

The community behind the social network cannot be underestimated either.

Openly sharing a wealth of knowledge and inspiring like-minded people to take photography to the next level.

I use it myself and recently even started a new Instagram account.

It’s @scottlathamphoto.

I hope you’ll follow me there.

Anyway, let’s get on to my must follow,

Inspiring wildlife photographers on Instagram

Here are some really talented photographers, which I’ve been following and thought you’d love to follow, too.

In no particular order.

Chris Schmid – @schmid_chris

As a Sony user myself, Chris just had to join my inspiring wildlife photographers hit list.

A Sony ambassador, his images have a unique style.

A beautiful portfolio from across the globe.

Shaaz Jung – @shaazjung

I’ve written about Shaaz before.

I just love his final images.

Based in India, his work with the black leopard of Kabini from his lodge, The Bison will blow your head.

Daisy Gilardini – @daisygilardini

Swiss Nikon Ambassador, Daisy has a stunning portfolio.

I just had to add her to the list after she absolutely stunned me this year with her latest portfolio of images.

It’s no surprise she has almost 350,000 followers.

Kevin Morgans – @kevmorgans

Based in the UK, Kev has managed to develop a style I am in total awe of.

His wonderfully unique depiction of puffins is properly the best portfolio of the species out there.

An award-winning photographer whose work will capture your imagination.

David Yarrow – @davidyarrow

Not many photographers can say they took one of the most famous photographs ever taken.

David can, as he took the famous picture of the late Diego Maradona holding the World Cup.

But his passion for photographer really lay in wildlife and his collection of fine art images is superbly presented.

David truly is one of my all-time favourites.

Ellie Rothnie – @ellierothnie

In my opinion, Ellie is the master of mush!

Her work really is beautiful.

Take a look at her Red Squirrel images taking in a variety of seasons.

Tin Man Lee – @tinmanlee

Tin Man is an award-winning photographer whose post-processing workflow will make you wonder.

How do I do that?

Well luckily for us Tin Man has just released a cool new workflow video showing us his Dynamic editing process.

He also has regular FREE webinars for a watach.

Andrew Parkinson – @andyparkinsonphoto

Andy is a featured contributor to National Geographic magazine and is one of Europe’s most awarded photographers.

With more than 50 individual awards, featuring more than 100 awarded images, his work is consistently featured in all of the world’s most prestigious wildlife photographic competitions.

David Lloyd – @davidlloyd

The master of black and white?

I genuinely think so.

There’s a reason why David has almost 200,000 followers.

Aparupa Dey – @aparupa.dey

Aparupa’s work is some of the best I’ve seen come out of Asia.

Her work truly is beautiful with a unique editing style.

You have to check it out.

Konsta Punkka – @kpunkka

I’ve followed Konsta for years on social media.

His dark and moody work from his native Finland really is stunning.

A different style to most of the other inspiring wildlife photographers on this list makes him stand out from the crowd.

Danny Green – @danny_green_photography

Danny is one of the original masters of wildlife photography in the UK.

I can’t think of another photographer who works as hard and has made as many sacrifices as Mr Green.

Just to achieve and deliver a stunning portfolio of images for us all to enjoy.

An inspiration to 90% of the UK wildlife photographers.

Brian Skerry – @brianskerry

Ready to go underseas?

Brian is a NatGeo photographer who specialises in underwater photography.

Clean crisp and WOW! images line his Instagram account.

Shannon Wild – @shannon_wild

An Aussie now living in Africa,

Shannon is a wildlife film-maker and photographer with a fantastic array of images, stories, and videos on her Instagram account.

With over 320,00 followers you can’t go wrong.

Paul Nicklin – @paulnicklen

A real inspiring wildlife photographer,

Paul and his partner Cristina Mittermeier, have dedicated their lives to saving the world’s oceans through storytelling.

Their not-for-profit Sealegacy is a real action group, doing incredible work.

Christina Muttermeier – @mitty

Just like Paul Nicklen,

Cristina Mittermeier has dedicated her conservation.

She is co-founder of not-for-profit Sealegacy.

Her 1.4 Million followers speak for themselves.

Alastair Marsh – @alastairmarshphotography

Photography’s nicest of nice guys.

I’ve been super lucky to have spent time out photographing with Alastair.

He is a big supporter of @conservationnow and has a cabinet of awards to his name.

Among them, he was the 2020 winner of the British Photography Awards.

Tom Way – @tom.way.photography

A fine art photographer,

Tom has a stunning portfolio that has built up a great following on Instagram.

His work in Africa,

Especially his Gorilla portfolio is really special.

Russell MacLaughlin – @russ_wildlife

More of an inspiring wildlife filmmaker,

Russell has a great portfolio of images and film.

His work is really special.

Melissa Groo – @melissagroo

Awarded the Katie O’Brien Lifetime Achievement Award, for demonstrating exceptional leadership and commitment to conservation.

Melissa is more than just a photographer with a great portfolio.

She is an inspiration for all.

Varun Aditya – @varun.aditya

2016 NatGeo Nature Photographer of the year,

Varun is another Sony ambassador proving its quality in the wildlife photography field.

He has 1.2m followers already getting inspired by his work.

Sean Weekly – @seanweekly

Another photographer who I’ve been lucky to spend plenty of time with.

Sean has one of the best portfolios of Dalmatian Pelicans on the web.

Mads Peter Iversen – @madspeteriversen_photography

Ok, so Mads doesn’t technically join my inspiring wildlife photographers list.

But he is on top of my inspiring landscape photographers.

His landscape photos blow my mind, and his youtube channel is well worth a watch.

Final thoughts

So there we have it.

My 22 awesome inspiring wildlife photographers, plus a bonus landscape photographer,

That you should be following on Instagram in 2021.

I hope you can find some inspiration among those listed to help you get out and take more photographs and connect with nature.

Remember you can follow me at @scottlathamphoto.